top of page

Flash Four-ward Countries


Writing to you from the Mahjong Hostel in Hong Kong

Been moving around a lot...

  1. Taiwan - I was in Taiwan for a month. I slow traveled in various parts of the island, surfing, eating, and hiking my way through some of the most gorgeous scenery and nature that I have ever experienced before in my life. I have over 300 beautiful pictures and some wonderful experiences with gorgeous people every day. Taiwan definitely attracts a different type of traveler. I ended the month with a terrible haircut. Language barriers, what's a girl to do?

  2. Portugal – I then spent about 2 weeks in Portugal, exploring the picturesque cities of Porto and Lisbon. I ate a lot, but the food was hard to adjust to, quite heavy and salty after Asia. I really enjoyed Porto's rivers and the easy lifestyle. It felt strange in a lot of ways to have everything be so easy after being in India and Asia. One of the highlights was doing a presentation for a group of seniors at a local high school on different ways to travel and how to make it happen. Left really energized with some amazing vibes from talking with the students!

  3. United Kingdom – From there, I went to London for a week. I had been told by some that it I would absolutely love it. I expected the New York of Europe. It was like that in terms of the “rush, rush, work hard,” mentality, but the architecture gave a completely different feel. The weather wasn't great and it didn't seem to agree with the people either. It was probably probably the coldest time of year to visit. A very expensive and intellectual city. The ads were less sex appeal and more brain appeal.

  4. Hong Kong – Now I'm in Hong Kong. I'm doing a work exchange in a hostel on the Kowloon side. Prior to that, I stayed in a Tin Hau AirBNB. I loved waking up and going for a run in Victoria Park and watching the older generation doing Tai Chi, some sword and fan dancing. I've been hiking a lot. Last night was the first day of the Chinese New Year. There was a parade on this side. I found out the morning of that CNY in HK is one of the top 3 festivals in the world to go to! I'm feeling good. Hong Kong without a doubt feels like the New York City of Asia. The food is like home, but not like my Cantonese mama's. Maybe it's because it's missing some of the love...

That's the short of it. The long is coming... In just a week, I will be in one place, Bali, Indonesia, for two months doing lots of my yoga, writing, and painting. I'm looking forward to sharing more of the adventure with you then!

Love,

-Liv

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page